Getting Upset

12 Apr

I have to say that every time I get upset, I find, in the long run, that if I had just thought of other perspectives, I might have not had to be ad in the first place. I do have to add, though, that it is difficult to say the least, to keep your cool when someone does something to aggravate you

Even in the event of me getting upset, I try my hardest to see what might have been or what was what from the other person’s perspective. I don’t always succeed, but I try nonetheless. I look for the positive things in the situation so I can move away from the negative feelings that have taken over me. Rather, it seems like they take over. They really only get bigger if I maintain my focus on what I thought might have been the injustice.

It is much better if I find that better feeling thought, look for the positive in the circumstance, realize that there are always two sides to every coin, and remember that the other person may have their own version of the facts. It is never a one-way street when we interact with the people around us. That is not to say that it doesn’t feel like a one-way street but it isn’t.

One of the things I do try to do is to think of the good things about the person, knowing that my vision might be a little distorted because I feel I have been done wrong. They can literally be things like the person is a good parent, they really do mean well, they have my best interest at heart, and many other little things I appreciate about them. Then, when I come back into contact and just listen to them, I usually find they have their own view about things that I didn’t even consider.

So, in closing, I think it really boils down to whether I want to be right or do I want to be happy. I like to think I opt for happiness every time. That is not always the case, but maybe if I just keep thinking like that, it really will come to pass!

Leave a Reply

