career changing

4 Apr
career CHANGE!

I have been a construction worker for more than 23 years. I have come to a place in my life that I wanted something more. I was unable to expand in my career with the exception of moving from apprentice to journeyman. (or journeywoman, if you will) I had decided I wanted to be in a new career by time I was 50 which has long passed me by. Long passed is relative, really, as I am only 52 now. But, needless to say, the change needed to happen for several reasons.

As we all know, working in the man’s world can be quite challenging. The fact, for me, has been that I have been stuck for a very long time. I have been a journeyman for about 18 years. The option to run work, which is being a foreman, general foreman, or even superintendent, has not been an option for me in my industry. My world is very much governed by the oldest system we have, I believe. Women are not placed in the positions of authority, for one reason or another. I really don’t know those reasons. Of course, I could speculate about those reasons, but none would really enable me to make my point any better.

So, I came to the conclusion a long time ago and with a lot of kicking and screaming that I needed to have more control in my life relative to work. I also needed to be appreciated more and to have the ability to expand. Finally, after many years, I realized it wasn’t going to happen on the job. I came to the realization that I would have to create that for myself. I searched and searched for some type of ‘J-O-B’ that I could turn to in order to expand on my desires. I ALWAYS came up with the same results. NOTHING! NOTHING! NOTHING!

I just decided to move on! The first place I started was to stop allowing going back to be an option. Believe me, when there aren’t proper funds in the kitty, bills still coming in, and the uncertainty is certainly scary, at best. I had a lot of mind work to do on myself so I could accomplish the move and successfully realize the things I want in my life. The process can be longer than not, but to arrive at the stopping the chaos point, so to speak, will require change. I came to the place that I knew I had to change the way I think.

When I was younger my father told me that if I had lemons, I should make lemonade. I looked around at my circumstances and thought, “ok! here are my lemons. Now, I must make lemonade.” I own a house, a vehicle, and a bunch of stuff that I can sell to accommodate some things. The main thing is that I changed the way I was looking at my situation and my situation changed. The changing afforded me the ability to see the picture differently.

I took my rather expensive car and traded it in on something more manageable. It saved my $60 per month via insurance and payment and it’s a car known not to have a crap ton of problems. I began doing upgrades to my home, such as painting, new blinds, and some other things to enhance the selling of it. I do not owe a ton on it and can make enough from it to carry me for a while if that is necessary to realizing a new life. I started posting things online to sell to pay the bills I currently have. These are my lemons and I am making lemonade. Thanks, Dad!

I am now on a new journey into a much more fulfilling and lovely life. I am at the beginning of that journey and will keep you posted. My new career, I decided, would be a traveling writer. The blogging business is brand new to me. So is the traveling. I will also be doing photography to add a bit of flair to my life. I have loved photography for decades. I was always trying to figure out how to afford it. Not worried about that anymore. The technology age has afforded it for me.

I look forward to keeping anyone interested updated on my new adventure. Stay tuned!!!

One Response to “career changing”

  1. Hussein Allam May 7, 2017 at 8:53 am #

    Wow, what an interesting story, as for me, your story has provided a lot of encouragement, as I believe that you have jumped to good positive steps! Hats off🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

